All Assam Chess Association – Indian Chess Association

The AACA or All Assam Chess Association, called Xadou Axom Doba Xontha in Assamese, is the chess association of the state of Assam in India. The All Assam Chess Association is officially accredited by the FIDE or Fédération Internationale des Échecs. The association is affiliated with the All India Chess Federation. In India, the All Assam Chess Association is registered under the Societies Registration Act: XXI of 1860, Number 1347 of 1981-82.

The All Assam Chess Association was established in the latter part of the 60s by Bodiyuz Zaman from Jorhat. Its first president was Kamakhya Prasad Tripathy.

To appreciate the difficulties and challenges that the All Assam Chess Association has faced over the years, it would be helpful to realize that the state of Assam is actually secluded from the rest of the country, geographically speaking. This has given rise to a whole slew of problems and obstacles that the All Assam Chess Association has had to overcome in the performance of its duties. One of its biggest problems is the extreme difficulty in securing adequate funds and sponsorship for its various projects and events.

Because of the sheer determination and effort of its members however, AACA has managed to overcome these obstacles, and somehow was able to foster a healthy environment for the propagation of chess in the state of Assam. Today, AACA has managed to establish district affiliates in each of Assam’s districts, and they are even able to send players to participate regularly in National and International chess tournaments and events.

As of September of the year 2007, the All Assam Chess Association counts no less than 14 Districts out of a possible 23 districts, as well as various chess organizations under its auspices.

In 2006 to 2007 the office-bearers of the All Assam Chess Association were listed as Mr. Bibhuti Gogoi, in the capacity of President, and Mr. Dipak Ghatuar as the Honorary General Secretary. One of the All Assam Chess Association’s past Presidents is Mr. Niren Saikia and Mr. Purnanananda Burhagohain once served as its Honorary General Secretary.

One of the most notable events held by the All Assam Chess Association was the Telegraph chess championship held in July of 2003. The event was the fourth Guwahati edition of The Telegraph School Chess Championship and was held at the Netaji Vidyapith Railway Higher Secondary School in Maligaon from July 1 to 7, 2003.

Rs 20,000 prize was up for grabs at the meet, which was organized with the help of the Alekhine Chess Club of Calcutta. The competition was open to all students of the Northeast, provided they have not appeared for the Class X examinations AND were born on or after January 1, 1987. Players who managed to reach the top five positions of the Guwahati leg of the event were then sent to Calcutta for the final round of the competition, as representatives of the Northeast. The event was shortly followed by the 27th all-Assam meet which was held from July 19 to 28, 2003.